This is a new award for the 2023-24 academic year that highlights an outstanding student across the College of Humanities and Fine Arts and Murray State University. Award criteria include: good academic standing, academic integrity and passion for their discipline, excellent senior capstone project, demonstration of leadership at the university, and initiative to present their research and/or creative activity with the broader academic community at conferences, exhibitions, etc.

About Elise:

Pronouns: she/her
Year in School: Senior
Major: History/Social Studies Certification
Minor: Religious Studies
Hometown: Murray, KY
Fun fact about yourself: I enjoy performing color guard in my free time!

What drew you to Murray State? 

I came to Murray State because of the academic and extracurricular opportunities it allowed me to pursue. Additionally, the history department’s social studies certification program and the environment created by the professors within the department set Murray State apart from other schools.

Why did you choose your major and minor and what made you passionate about studying history?

 I chose to study history because I always really enjoyed history classes in high school and wanted to be a teacher. Throughout my undergraduate experience, I continued to enjoy my history classes, and the concepts within them. This led me to pursue a minor in religious studies. Many history classes overlap with religious studies, and I found the component of religion as a driving force within early civilizations fascinating. Then, I took some introductory courses and added the minor!

What inspired your senior seminar project in history?

My senior seminar project was inspired by my personal experiences and the lack of research regarding marching band history. I have participated in color guard and marching band programs for the last nine years in some capacity. As I got older, I realized there was not very much documented about the development of marching bands in America. Much oral history exists, but I wanted to do a recorded project aligning the marching band and military histories of the United States.

What (if any) leadership roles, clubs, or organizations have you been involved in on or off campus while at MSU?

  • Phi Alpha Theta Xi Lambda Chapter: President 2021- Present; Social Media Chair 2020-2021; Historian 2019-2020
  • Visual Theater Winter Guard 2019-2020
  • Spirit of Atlanta Drum and Bugle Corps Summer 2021
  • Crossmen Drum and Bugle Corps Summer 2022
  • Eklipse A Winter Guard: Performer 2019 – 2022; Captain 2021-2022
  • Eklipse Winter Guard(World Guard): Performer 2022-2023
  • Murray State Racer Band: Color Guard 2019-2021, Racer Band Ambassador to the Residential Colleges 2020
  •  Baptist Campus Ministry: Member 2019-Present, Outreach Team 2020-2023
  • Franklin College Council Executive Team: Public Outreach Chair August 2020- May 2021
  • Murray State Dance Company: Performer August 2019- April 2020
  • Murray High School Young Life Programming: September 2023- Present
  • Eklipse Winter Guard Media Staff: September 2023- Present

What’s one of your favorite memories of campus life that isn’t class-related?

My favorite memories of campus life involve spending time with my friends on campus. That may be studying together, eating together, or just wandering around campus. Many fun memories took place at history club meetings and group study sessions.

What are your plans for after graduation?

After graduation, I plan on becoming a high school history teacher and eventually earning my graduate degree in history!

What advice would you give incoming freshmen at Murray State?

Get involved. Whether it’s band, a club, athletics, intramurals, a religious organization, etc. Getting involved with any type of campus organization will give you a way to make friends and create a support system on campus. You won’t be successful on your own, and having a close network of peers will make a huge impact. You should also take as many electives as you can. You never know what subjects you may connect with unless you explore different classes and subject areas!

Congratulations on our second honoree for the CHFA Outstanding Scholar Award, Elise Eaton.

Leave a comment