Melanie Davis

  • Name: Melanie Davis
  • Year: Senior
  • Major/Minor: Music Business
  • Quirky Fact: I hoop dance! (Hula hoop)
  • What is your favorite food or drink to get on campus? Chai latte with soy milk from Starbooks
  • What is your favorite Movie or Book? Movie: Top Gun Book: The Little Prince
  • What is your favorite campus event? Campus Lights

 

Q&A

Why did you choose Murray State University?

My school was heavily recruited by Racer Band; they would come down for marching competitions, and I participated in Festival of Champions three times in high school.  I applied here, and I also applied for the presidential scholarship.  I ended up receiving it and it was hard to turn it down, so I came to Murray.

Who have been your mentors?

Definitely my voice teacher, Dr. Black. He is also my research mentor for my Presidential scholarship research. Dr. Almquist is another one. Dr. Field, Dr. Wurgler and all the other music faculty for sure.

Why did your choose your major?

I came here for music education originally because I wanted to have a voice studio and be a choir director for high school students. Then I did more soul searching my freshmen year and decided that a classroom was not where I wanted to end up after college. I’m a singer/songwriter who goes out and does her own business stuff and gigs… I thought music business would be a wise choice.

Tell us about your major accomplishments related to your major?

I’ve been able to participate in a lot of musicals and shows since I’ve been here. I’ve been in six shows– one of them was an opera–and I was lucky enough to play some really great characters. Last year, I was picked to be the vocalist for the jazz orchestra, which has been an amazing experience. I’m also pretty proud of my personal gig schedule. I had a goal to have at least one show a week, and I’ve been able to accomplish that. Also I have a website where I post and sell all my original music, melanieadavis.bandcamp.com

What are your plans after graduation?

I’m interning at WKMS right now. I’m the music and operations assistant to Tracy Ross, so I might just stick with that for now. If that turns into a permanent job, I’m happy to stay in Murray for awhile.  I’ve also thought about moving to Paducah, since that’s where a lot of my gigs are, so I would save time and money on transportation.

What should a new student to Murray State University know?

That Murray is not as small and slow as you think. If you look in the right spots, there are a lot of fun things to do. Murray’s music scene is the one thing I always brag about; it’s a treasure trove of amazingly good and diverse bands. Go to shows!

Leave a comment