Sarah Rao

  • Name: Sarah Rao
  • Year: Junior
  • Major/Minor: Psychology and Business Administration
  • Quirky Fact: I always have Nutella in stock
  • What is your favorite food or drink to get on campus? Passion fruit tea lemonade from the Curris Center café
  • What is your favorite Movie or Book? Anything by Nicholas Sparks
  • What is your favorite campus event? The Step Show

 

Q&A

Why did you choose Murray State University?

When I came on my campus visit, I met with the Psychology department chair, Paula Waddill. She told me about a lot of research opportunities for undergraduate students which was really important to me because I had plans to go to graduate school. Also, everyone was so friendly. I’m originally from St. Louis, so having that small town feel was really nice, and of course it was a beautiful campus.

Who have been your mentors?

I have had many mentors. Dr. Anderson in the Psychology Department was one of my first professors that I really clicked with, and he was someone I could always go to even if he wasn’t my professor. Dr. Hackathorn is also someone who has played a big role in my time in the department. She constantly pushes me to strive for more when it comes to research and growing in the field.

Why did you choose your major?

I took an AP psychology class in high school, and it was just so interesting. I’ve always been the kind of person to ask “Why?” and “Why are things the way they are?” This major explores those exact questions, and I love learning about the complexity of the people in our world.

Tell us about your major accomplishment related to your major.

Last year, I conducted my first research study and presented at my first conference, which was very exciting. I also presented research at the Psychology Symposium and received an award.

What are your plans after graduation?

I think I want to graduate early and move to a big city. I like to experience new environments and surround myself with different people. Since I’m interested in consumer behavior and marketing, I want to gain work experience and then attend graduate school.

What should a student new to Murray State University know?

College is a fresh start, so they shouldn’t be afraid to use this time to explore new things and not be afraid of what everyone else is doing. They should focus on finding out who they are apart from their family and peers.

 

Leave a comment