Photo 1

  • Name: Maurice Hanley
  • Year: Senior
  • Major/Minor: Music Education
  • Quirky Fact: I LOVE Anime!
  • What is your favorite food or drink to get on campus? Mashed potato bowl at Winslow
  • What is your favorite Movie or Book? Movie: Disney’s The Lion King
  • What is your favorite campus event? The Music Department’s Fall Fanfare Concert

 

 

Q&A

 

Why did you choose Murray State University?

I chose Murray State University because ever since I was in high school I had always heard that the music education program and the people here were great. After coming here for Quad-State Band festivals and on-campus visits, I truly fell in love with the school and the faculty and decided to apply.

 

Who have been your mentors?

I’ve really had three main mentors here at Murray. My first would be Dr. Stephanie Rea, my flute professor. Meeting with her for flute lessons was always the highlight of my week; she is one of the best professors on campus. The second would be Dr. Erica Kupinski. She was my music education and McNair adviser. What I admire about her is her willingness to be open and honest with me, to tell me the tough things even when I don’t want to hear them. Finally, my campus pastor for Chi Alpha, Ryan Brooks, has mentored me on both a personal and spiritual level. Every week he helps me understand the Bible, live like Jesus, and understand who I am in Christ.

Photo 2

Why did you choose your major?

I chose my major because I’ve always loved music, and in high school I decided that I wanted to make it my career; however, after not getting into the Governor’s School for the Arts I decided that performing professionally just wasn’t for me. So I decided that since I won’t be a professional performer, I will teach the next generation of performers. Most importantly: I wanted to make a huge, positive impact in the lives of children.

 

Tell us about your major accomplishments related to your major?

One of my major accomplishments related to my major has been a research project that I did for the McNair Scholars program. I created a music curriculum for two-year-olds based upon the Music Learning Theory of Dr. Edwin E. Gordon. I presented this project in the form of a poster during Scholars Week here at Murray State University, and at the Black Doctoral Network Conference in Atlanta, Georgia.

 

What are your plans after graduation?

After I graduate, I plan on becoming an intern/missionary for the campus ministry that I am a part of now, Chi Alpha, but I will be joining a different branch of the ministry which is called Chi Alpha Diversity; it is based out of North Carolina which is where I’ll be moving to for a full year. Then after that, I’m just going to go wherever the Lord directs me, but I truly believe it will be in education as a music teacher and/or administrator.

Photo 3

 

What should a student new to Murray State University know?

A new student to Murray State University should know that you don’t have to be scared to step out of your comfort zone, or be different here on campus. There are plenty of people who are very accepting, caring, and loving towards the students here, and it’s very easy to find your place; you just have to keep looking.

 

 

Leave a comment