Colin Marshia

  • Name: Colin Marshia
  • Year: Junior (Transfer Student)
  • Major/Minor: English Education
  • Quirky Fact: I have a black belt in taekwondo.
  • What is your favorite Movie or Book? The Secret Life of Walter Mitty with Ben Stiller. Favorite book is Lord of the Flies.
  • Favorite Food on Campus: Cinnamon rolls from the T-Room! My breakfast every Friday!
  • What is your favorite campus event? Great Beginnings

 

Q&A

Why did you choose Murray State University?

As a transfer student from a community college, one of the things I was looking for was a college that was affordable and close to home. Murray was one I had considered and a couple of friends talked to me and really convinced me to look at Murray State more in depth. I did, and I decided to go with Murray and I haven’t regretted it since.

Who have been your mentors?

Dr. Bell—she’s been really good at helping me transition into the teacher program and just making sure I know what I need to know before I start actually teaching. Dr. Sroda has been really helpful in not only just getting me transitioned from the community college into Murray but also challenging me to step out of my comfort zone. Then of course my parents are still really big impacts on my life right now, as well as my old high school teacher Mr. Ryan Bailey, who constantly serves as inspiration and a mentor. Mike Kerrick also has been a great influence with Murray Christian Fellowship and just making it a home away from home (quite literally).

Why did you choose your major?

I actually didn’t start out as an English education major; I started out with psychology major then changed it over to nursing until I got my state registration as a nurse’s aid. After that I decided that I didn’t really want to go into that, so I finally gave into what everyone had been telling me to do to begin with. I decided to go into English education. I just feel that with English education, I have a chance to be more of an impact because it’s a profession that is not just something that you totally do on your own. It’s something that’s greater than myself.

Tell us about your major accomplishments related to your major?

The biggest thing that I have accomplished so far is getting my associate’s degree. I haven’t really done too many other things that have been deemed spectacular to my major.

What are your plans after graduation?

I plan to go back home and try and teach in the county or surrounding county. I also plan to go into a graduate program for counseling and maybe become a school counselor. I’m not really sure; it’s so hard to plan because there are so many things that I think would be so cool to do. I’m just going to trust in God and see where I go.

What should a student new to Murray State University know?

Get involved. Find a hobby, sport, or something like a club that has people with similar interests with you because that way you’ll meet a lot of people and you can make a lot of friends that way and just feel more welcomed.

Leave a comment