Austin Desjardins

Year: Senior

Major: Music (B.S.)

Hometown: Upton, KY

Quirky Fact: I am a proud cat dad.

Favorite thing to get (food/drink) on campus: Coffee from Waterfield Library

Best movie you’ve seen recently: IT

Favorite movie: The Lion King

Best book you’ve read recently: Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

Favorite book: Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

What you like to do on campus: Participate in Campus Lights; Attend recitals on campus

 

 

Tell us about yourself:

I am a Senior B.S. in Music major, and I am very heavily involved with the music department. This past year, I have served as the Campus Lights Chairman; I’ve been one of the Racer Band Drum Majors for the past three years, since Sophomore year; I work at Pogue Library in the special collections library. I’m a very musical person.

Why did you choose Murray State?

Definitely the reputation of the Music Department as vastly superior. When my middle school band director, a Murray State alum, and the selected instrumentalists came down for Quad State, I fell in love with how beautiful the campus is. Unlike some other campuses, it’s very green: there’s so much life on campus. The buildings, too, are gorgeous.

Who have you enjoyed working with?

As a freshman, I enjoyed working with Dr. Ray Conklin, who is the Low Brass faculty member. The past two years, I’ve been working with Dr. Todd French, the Tuba and Euphonium professor now. He’s a very talented educator and Tuba player. This past year, I have really enjoyed working with the Administrative Assistant of the Music department, Barbara Like, and Dr. Unrau, our new chair. I have really gotten to know them, especially through my work with Campus Lights—the Chair is heavily involved with the process. She oversees the decisions we make. As far as the actual process goes, she just has to agree with the decisions we make. Barb is in charge of our accounts, so she has a lot of information on how much our budget is, where it’s coming from, and all of that.

Who inspires you in life?

I would say my parents. They have always worked hard for what they have, so it’s very clear that’s where I get my work ethic. They’ve also always said they don’t really care what I do, whether it be college, working, just as long as I’m happy while I’m doing it. That’s stuck with me as I’ve changed my major through college. Going into my Master’s, they’ve definitely helped me realize my goals. Also, I admire the people I’ve worked with on Governor’s School for the Arts, or GSA, which comes out of Louisville at the Kentucky Center for the Performing Arts. They have helped me find Master’s programs, and given me the opportunity to work and intern with them, so they’ve definitely inspired me.

How did you choose your major?

I knew I was always in love with music and the arts, and in middle school my only real expression of that was through band, so I thought, “Oh, well obviously I’m going to become a band director or something. That’s the most obvious thing to do.” When I got to college, I thought, “Okay, maybe I don’t want to teach, but I still want to be involved with the arts,” so this past year I changed majors to the Bachelors of Science in Music and I realized that, yes, I have this love for the arts, but I also have this love for the administrative side of the arts, which is like running a Department, or a nonprofit that supports the arts. So through my work with GSA, and my work on Campus Lights, I’ve realized that’s what I want to do: that’s what I’m going into my Master’s with.

Work/projects related to your major?

Currently, I’m finishing up work with Campus Lights, as we’re about to have elections for the next Chairman, since I am graduating. I am also starting an internship with the Music Department; I’m helping them with some administrative tasks. Right now, I’m working on some procedural manuals and some advertising points for them. I am also working towards my Senior Recital (March 16).

Recent awards/ honors?

Last year, I received one of the Taste for the Arts scholarships, which is selected by the faculty to recognize achievement in the department. I also received the Chairman position for Campus Lights, of course. And most recently, I have been hired as a Supervisor for GSA for this summer.

Future plans:

Right now, I plan to go to Webster University in St. Louis, specializing in Arts Management and Leadership. They have a Master’s program that allows you to work in the field as well as getting the classes you need. It’s very focused on people with a vast background, so there are going to be people who have been working in the field, and also people who are fresh and green, like I will be. Although I’m doing these work experiences while at Murray State, I still have never held a full-time position, since I am still a student. With this Master’s program, though, I will be able to do both.

Leave a comment