Logan Allen FS

Name: Logan Allen

 

Year: Senior

 

Major/Minor: Major in Political Science/ Minor in Legal Studies

 

Quirky Fact: I make my own Cards Against Humanity decks.

 

What is your favorite food or drink to get on campus?

I don’t usually eat on campus, but I think the Chick-fil-A will be my go-to place if it finally opens.

 

What is your favorite Movie or Book?

My favorite movie and book are both Moneyball.

 

What is your favorite campus event?

My favorite events are the basketball games.

 

Why did you choose Murray State University?

My first year of college, I went to a university in Maryland. I had a lot of fun, met a lot of great people, and learned a lot, but I am from Murray, so I felt like it was time to move home. Murray is such a great school. I knew I would fit in here, do well, and receive a great education.

 

Who have been your mentors?

The Political Science department is such a great department. They all do a great job; they really care and go the extra mile to ensure that their students are learning and retaining the material. My parents and brother have also been great role models teaching me how to become a successful student and person.

 

Why did you choose your major?

Initially, when I began college, I was a Chemistry major, but quickly learned that I hated Chemistry. I decided that I should probably change my major to something that I enjoy doing, which was Political Science. Politics is a subject that I have always been interested and passionate in. It is a field I know I can get a job in, and it is always great to be able to do what you enjoy.

 

Tell us about any accomplishments related to your major.

I have been very lucky to be in such a great department in which I have been able to make the President’s list for the past four semesters. Again, doing something you love puts you in a place to succeed.

 

What are your plans after graduation?

I am not exactly sure yet. I am still deciding if I would like to pursue law school, graduate school, or go straight into the workforce. The best part about my education so far is that I feel fully prepared to enter and excel in all of these career paths.

 

What should a student new to Murray State University know?

The first thing I suggest is to meet your professors. Visit them during office hours and have a conversation with them early in the semester so they can get to know you better. If they know you, they will be more likely to make sure you are engaged during class and help you along the way. Succeeding in the classroom is what really makes you excel in college. Also, if anyone invites you to attend events or activities, as long as it is not illegal, do it. It is the easiest way to make friends and have fun on what should be one of the most enjoyable rides of your life.

 

Leave a comment