• Year: Senior
  • Major: English/Professional Writing
  • Minor: Musical Theatre
  • Quirky Fact: I only have my top two wisdom teeth.
  • Favorite Food/Drink to Get on Campus: Coffee
  • Favorite Book/Movie/Podcast/TV Series: Beauty and the Beast
  • Favorite Campus Event: Campus Lights

IMG_5924 (1).jpg

Q&A

Why did you choose Murray State?

I had not originally planned to attend Murray State, but my mom encouraged me to tour the campus. I fell in love with the community and the atmosphere when I visited. From that point on, I was sold.

Who have been your mentors?

I consider Dr. Julie Cyzewski in the Department of English and Philosophy to be a mentor. I had her for Women’s Literature and Research in Literary Studies in the spring of 2019. I finished those courses very appreciative of her kindness and willingness to help students. She pushed me to further develop my researching and writing skills. In her class, I was presented with unfamiliar material, including Chinua Achebe’s Things Fall Apart. I had never been exposed to the African culture presented in the novel. Her guidance made a difference to me, and I was able to better understand the content. I knew she cared about my work and wanted me to succeed.

Both my parents have continued to be mentors throughout my college experience. I could not have completed these last four years without their support and encouragement.

Why did you choose your major?

English was my favorite class in high school, and I realized I was proficient in it. The material was easy for me to grasp. I also noticed I enjoyed learning grammatical rules and editing written work. In college, I wanted to know more about the English language. I desired to strengthen my writing ability, and I began to take time to craft my work. I chose English/Professional Writing as my major because it was a perfect combination of my interests.

How are you planning on utilizing your major and minor in your future career?

I’m not sure yet. I could see myself writing for a business or doing freelance work. If I can be in a position communicating with others, I will be happy. As for utilizing my musical theatre minor, I think I will probably stay connected with a community theatre. I am currently interning at Playhouse in the Park, the community theatre here in Murray.

Tell us about your favorite research or projects you’ve worked on.

The research I did for Dr. Cyzewski was rewarding. I worked with Chinua Achebe’s novel, Things Fall Apart and discussed how women are misrepresented and mistreated in his novel. For example, the women portrayed in Things Fall Apart are not necessarily reflective of Igbo women in pre-colonial Nigeria. They are subjects of abuse, and an implication of their dependency is evident through analysis of supernatural intercessions.

For the musical theatre minor, a favorite “project” that I worked on was the musical Crazy for You. I was a dancer in the production and spent a considerable amount of time learning and practicing choreography. The process and performances were a lot of fun. My theatre classes in general have been very enjoyable. Last year, I was in a musical theatre performance class. My peers and I created our own show by compiling and performing songs from several musicals. The result was a musical performance centered around the themes of crime and justice.

What other accomplishments are you proud of?

Most importantly, I am thankful I developed growing relationships at Murray State. I am confident the friendships I made will be life-long. I also found a determination within myself that wasn’t truly activated until college. I became more serious about my studies and wanted to work to the best of my abilities. I am proud of maintaining a 4.0 GPA. Overall, I feel accomplished knowing I will leave Murray State a better person, friend, writer, and learner.

What are your plans after graduation?

I am currently looking for writing-related positions in Bowling Green, Kentucky. I don’t have a specific job in mind, so I’m open to different possibilities. Right now, it’s a matter of searching for jobs and seeing if I come across something that piques my interest.

What advice would you give a new student at Murray State?

Make the most of your time here because it goes by in the blink of an eye. Four years is going to feel like two. Hit the ground running, but don’t be afraid to walk up to someone and start a conversation with them because he or she might end up being your best friend. Embrace the community and the opportunities you have here. Really, just enjoy your time because it will be over before you know it.

Leave a comment