cumming headshot.png

Ashley Cumming

 Assistant Professor of Horn

Education 

  • Doctor of Music in Horn Performance and Literature, Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, 2009-14.
  • Master of Music in Horn Performance, University of Victoria, 2007-2009.
  • Honors Bachelor of Music in Horn Performance, Wilfrid Laurier University, 2003-07.

Q&A

Tell us about your discipline. How did you get interested in it?

I first became enamored with the French horn during our beginner band in seventh grade, like so many others! After a few years, I joined a local youth orchestra, attended summer music camps, and realized my hobby was now my full-time passion. My early interest in Music History was fueled by my love of the orchestral music I was playing, and the drive to understand the motivation of the composers and interest in the subtleties and nuances I could bring to performance.

What professional accomplishments are you proud of?

A major part of my creative activity includes performing and recording with orchestras and in smaller settings, such as my Brass Quintet, Spark Brass.  One of those performances was with the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra, which was also a recorded performance. A CD of the performance entitled “Festival of Carols, vol. 2” was released in November 2019 by Naxos, and I am proud to be part of the talented ensemble featured on the recording.

One of my passions is working with students on effective performance, focusing on strategies to combat performance anxiety, and musician heath and wellness. This has resulted in special topics courses, invited presentations, and last year a Kentucky Music Educators Association conference presentation that I co-led with another faculty member, Eric Swisher.

What projects are you currently working on?

As I write this, I am about to take 5 upper-level horn students to the Mid-South Horn Workshop in Oklahoma City. While there, I will perform in solo and ensemble settings, adjudicate competitions, and my students will also compete in several events. I also have upcoming performances in Memphis and Paducah, where I often play with the Symphony Orchestra. (Editor’s Note: Dr. Cumming and her students were unable to attend the Mid-South Workshop because of COVID-19 travel restrictions and conference cancellations.)

What courses do you teach regularly, and what do you hope students take away from your classes? 

I teach all things French horn, including horn lessons and ensembles, brass quintet, Music History and Honors Music. In history, my goal is to show how lessons from the past apply to the present and to widen the lens on what we traditionally study.

72560573_2396785050405219_6863611640294670336_o.jpg

Why do you think your subject area is important for people to study?

I do my best to instill a love of music and a set of problem-solving skills in students that they can take into their careers, no matter what those may be. Music students have incredibly high success rates in law school and med school, as well as contributing to society within the music industry. With a combination of passion, hard and thoughtful work, I know my students will contribute in a positive and meaningful way.

Leave a comment