BIO

  • YEAR AT MURRAY STATE: Senior
  • HOMETOWN: Owensboro, Kentucky
  • MAJOR: Music Education
  • QUIRKY FACT: I collect hats
  • FAVORITE MOVIES: I really enjoy the Harry Potter movies and Pirates of the Caribbean movies, and Lord of the Rings / The Hobbit.
  • FAVORITE FOOD OR DRINK TO GET ON CAMPUS: Cinnamon Sugar bagel from Einstein’s
  • FAVORITE CAMPUS EVENT: All Campus Sing

Q&A

Why did you choose to attend Murray State and become a music major?

I chose Murray State because I heard through many of my choir and band directors that it has great Music Education. I have always been interested in becoming a teacher but it wasn’t until later in high school that music really stuck out to me.

Tell us about your life as a music student at Murray State.

One of my favorite professors is Dr. Todd French, the professor of tuba and euphonium. I always walk out of a tuba lesson with a smile on my face and some life lessons to live by from him. I was a member of the Racer Band for three years and acted as sousaphone section leader for two years. I am also a brother of the music fraternity on campus, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia. 

What are your plans for after graduation, and what advice would you give to incoming Murray State students?

I’m looking forward to beginning my music teaching career and possibly attending graduate school. I would tell incoming students that some days are going to be challenging, but you have to remind yourself why you came here and what dreams you wanted to accomplish.

Thanks, Cristian!

Leave a comment