BIO

  • YEAR AT MURRAY STATE: Senior
  • HOMETOWN: Gilbertsville, Kentucky
  • MAJOR: Psychology
  • MINOR: Sociology
  • INTERESTING FACT: Outside of school and work, I am also a member of Verticality Pole and Aerial Fitness Studio in Paducah.
  • FAVORITES: Acid Test by Tom Schroder (book), Dumb and DumberPineapple Express (movies), Broad City, The Joe Rogan Experience
  • FAVORITE FOOD OR DRINK TO GET ON CAMPUS: French vanilla iced coffee (any location)
  • FAVORITE CAMPUS EVENT: Scholars Week

Q&A

Why did you choose to attend Murray State?

I chose to attend Murray State on the basis of three simple goals: personal growth, intellectual growth, and the opportunity to gain experiences along the way. I had just purchased my first home and decided it was time for me to branch out from my life as a waitress and, with the added support from my family, I was able to begin my journey in higher education. I could not be more grateful for this decision.

Why did you choose your major and minor?

I was originally a Liberal Arts major because I had no clue where I wanted my academic career to take me; I just knew I wanted to learn. During my first semester, I took Dr. Dan Wann’s social psychology course and was immediately drawn to the field. After failing the first exam, I wasn’t quite sure whether or not psychology would be right for me, but once scores for the second exam were posted and I had gotten an A, I was convinced and decided to change my major that afternoon. I chose to minor in sociology because of how well it coincides with my social psychology interests. Studying the two together really helps to paint a more inclusive picture regarding our social world through the integration of the person and the situation in which they find themselves. 

What have been some of your favorite courses, projects, or mentors?

My favorite part about my time here at Murray State has been the continual process of developing my research skills. The psychology program is designed in a way that really encourages students to get involved. There are so many great opportunities that allow you to gain applicable experience under the direction of very supportive faculty. Rather than choose a favorite professor, class, and/or project I would honestly have to attribute a majority of my preference to the entire Department of Psychology. Each course I’ve taken has pushed me at least one step closer towards my goal of becoming a successful researcher.

Tell us about any accomplishments you’ve experienced while at Murray State, or any clubs/organizations you’ve been part of.

 In fall 2020, I served as the President of Psi Chi, the International Honors Society in Psychology. Last year, I was also member of the Social Psychology Club, which I considered a huge honor because it’s an exclusive, invite-only group led by Dr. Wann, Dr. Hackathorn, and Dr. Rife, the three social psychologists within the department. I am also a member of the National Society of Leadership, as well as the Psychology Club.

What are your plans for after graduation?

I plan to apply for the Experimental Psychology Masters program here at Murray State for next fall. Once I get my masters, I am planning on continuing my education by getting a PhD in Social Psychology.

What advice would you give to incoming students at Murray State?

Connect with your peers! Develop relationships with the other students in your classes. Exchange contact information. Utilize the benefits of collaborative learning! Having a network of other students to reach out to has really been a lifesaver for me on numerous occasions across multiple courses, with the added benefit of gaining friendships along the way!

Leave a comment