Dr. Todd French

Associate Professor of Music – Tuba & Euphonium

Education:

  • Doctorate of Music – Tuba and  Brass Pedagogy, Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, 2012
  • Master of Music – Tuba Performance, Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, 2006
  • Bachelor of Music – Tuba Performance, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Glenn Korff School of Music, 2002

Q&A

Tell us about how you got interested in becoming a professional musician and teacher.

I grew up with two career public school teachers. My mother taught second grade, and my father was the high school band director. Needless to say, music and education have always played a significant role in my life. My father started me on the euphonium in the fourth grade, and I later transitioned to tuba when I grew big enough to handle the instrument.

During my junior year of high school, I landed my first paying gig: playing in the Buffalo Bill Rodeo Band! And from there, I decided to take music seriously and pursue a career in music. Now, it’s my turn to have the joy of inspiring future musicians and music teachers, just like my mother and father did for me.

What are a few of your recent professional accomplishments?

  • 2019 International Tuba and Euphonium Conference (ITEA) – University of Iowa. Performance: Murray State University Tuba and Euphonium Ensemble5/28/19
  • 2019 Kentucky Music Educator Conference (KMEA) – Louisville, Kentucky.  Presenter: –“Recruiting, Developing and Revitalizing Your Tuba and Euphonium Sections – 2/8/19
  • 2018 Midwest Regional Tuba and Euphonium Conference (MRTEC) – Indiana University-Fort Wayne.  Presenter: “Be a Better Teacher: Application of Learning Theories in Brass Pedagogy” – 4/14/18

What projects are you currently working on?

I am currently working on a solo tuba and euphonium CD recording of French Impressionist composers and French Conservatory compositions. This recording will contain original tuba compositions, as well as works for saxhorn, alto saxophone, and flute, performed on tuba and euphonium.  The purpose of the project is to research, introduce and record new works currently not represented in the standard tuba and euphonium repertoire.

What courses do you teach regularly, and what do you hope students take away from your classes? 

One of the many classes I teach, and really one of the most enjoyable classes I teach, is MUS 106 – Film Music! My film music course is designed to teach students general methods and tools for analyzing and interpreting film music within the context of film history. My hope is that students will be able to develop lifelong critical listening and viewing skills while watching film, which will enhance their overall viewing experience. After my class, students will never watch or listen to a movie the same way again!

Why do you think your subject area is important for people to study?

The study of music provides the opportunity for a person to learn about themselves: what motivates them, what inspires them, and what challenges them. There is nothing more satisfying than setting a goal, working towards the goal, and reaching the goal. Music provides the satisfaction of being able to look back and see just how far you’ve grown along the way.

I also believe that there is something special about the process of creating something beautiful that can be enjoyed by others; music is an honorable endeavor.

Thank you, Dr. French!

Leave a comment