BIO

  • NAME: Khepreisha Brown
  • PREFERRED PRONOUNS: She/her
  • HOMETOWN: Mayfield, KY
  • YEAR AT MURRAY STATE: Senior
  • DEGREE (Your Major, Minor, Double Major, etc.): Psychology/ABA with a minor in Humanities
  • QUIRKY FACT ABOUT YOURSELF: I have rewatched Grey’s Anatomy about 4 times.
  • A FAVORITE BOOK, MOVIE, TV SHOW, or PODCAST: My favorite movie is The Help.
  • FAVORITE FOOD OR DRINK TO GET ON CAMPUS: My favorite food at MSU is the sushi! 
  • FAVORITE CAMPUS EVENT: The FAME drag show 

Q&A

Why did you choose to attend Murray State?

I chose MSU because it is close to home and has a very welcoming environment. It is a big school with small classroom sizes which allows you to connect with your peers and the professor. 

Why did you choose your major and minor?

I chose my major because it is my passion to help others. I found an interest in helping children with developmental disabilities, and the Applied Behavioral Analysis track was a perfect fit! I chose Humanities as my minor because I wanted to become more aware and knowledgeable about things happening in the world and how to advocate for what I believe in. 

Tell us about a few of your favorite courses, projects, or mentors.

Some of my favorite courses include ALL of the ABA classes, as well as Feminist Philosophy, Gender and Diversity studies, and Abnormal Psychology. 

Tell us about any accomplishments you’ve experienced while at Murray State, or any clubs/organizations you’ve enjoyed being a part of.

I have not taken part in any clubs or organizations while at MSU, but I have had many accomplishments in my studies and just recently got matched at an awesome internship site that I also accepted a job offer from!

What are your plans for after graduation?

My plans for after graduation include going into a School Psychology program (hopefully at Murray State!) and becoming a School Psychologist. 

What advice would you give to incoming students at Murray State?

My advice for incoming students at MSU would be to not feel ashamed or discouraged by changing your major a couple of times. It is hard being a freshman and having to choose a path for your future. I changed my major a couple of times and am still graduating a semester earlier than expected! Oh, and ALWAYS ask questions! There is no such thing as a dumb question.

Thank you, Khepreisha!

Leave a comment