Dr. Stephanie Carlson, Assistant Professor of Music

she/her/hers

DMA and MM from University of Georgia
Bachelor of Music from Baldwin Wallace University Conservatory of Music

Q&A

Tell us about yourself.

I am originally from Omaha, NE, and recently moved to Murray from Moorhead, MN (right next to Fargo, ND). I enjoy cooking, hiking, playing piano for fun, and spending time with my nieces and nephews when I’m back in Omaha to visit. I also recently adopted a deaf cat named Pete. It works out great because he is not bothered by my practicing at all!

Tell us about your area of specialization. How did you get interested in it?

I currently teach oboe, bassoon, and saxophone, but my main instrument is the oboe. Special research interests include woodwind pedagogy, especially the pedagogy of teaching beginners. I’m very passionate about starting beginners with a good foundation of solid fundamentals. I’m also currently finishing a CD consisting entirely of the music of Ruth Gipps (1921-1999). She was an oboist, composer, conductor, virtuoso pianist, and impresario during a time when it was very rare for women to be doing any of those things. I came across her work several years ago while trying to find more works to perform by composers who happen to be women. I’ve been fascinated by her music ever since!

What are a few recent professional accomplishments that you’re proud of?

Last summer, I recorded a performance with my good friend and colleague that was featured in the 2021 International Double Reed Society Conference (virtual). Currently, I am in the early stages of planning a recital for the spring semester. It feels good to be able to start performing for live audiences again!

What are your favorite aspects of teaching? What do you hope students take away from your classes?

In music, we are really fortunate to be able to work one-on-one with our students. I really enjoy the relationships that are formed over the years I spend working with them and watching them grow. From their time with me, I hope that my students take away a contagious sense of enthusiasm and joy along with a sense of pride in their ability to express themselves as unique artists.

Why do you think your discipline or subject area is important for people to study?

Music is really special in that it activates practically every area of the brain. The benefits of musical study are too numerous to list here, but I believe the most important reason to study music lies in its profound power to connect us more deeply to ourselves and to one another.

Thank you, Dr. Carlson!

Leave a comment