he/him

Assistant Professor of English (Creative Writing)

  • BA – Olivet Nazarene University
  • MA – Eastern Illinois University
  • PhD – Indiana University

Q&A

Tell us about yourself.

I’m from Kankakee, Illinois. While most of my freetime is spent either writing or working through my always-growing reading list, I am a fervent consumer of reality television, the films of Charlie Kaufman, and the music of Kendrick Lamar. When it comes to books, I’ll read anything by Zadie Smith, David Mitchell, Thomas Pynchon, and Colson Whitehead. If I’m not reading, writing, or Netflix-ing, I’m usually just cuddling up with my dogs–Murphy (a golden retriever) and Louie (a furry gremlin with a heart of gold).

Tell us about your area of specialization. How did you get interested in it?

As a creative writer, I’m primarily interested in speculative fiction, or literary fiction that incorporates elements from a variety of genres (Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and so on). I’m drawn to speculative fiction because, while I enjoy traditional literary fiction, I have always had a deep love for science fiction and comic books. When I began reading writers who were experimenting with genre and discovered that I could write books that combined my own interests as a reader, I was hooked.

As a scholar, I’m interested in the aesthetic intersection of genomics and metafiction (fiction about fiction). My doctoral dissertation examined issues related to epigenetics, ancestry testing, and abnormal mutations alongside works of metafiction. Related to my work as a creative writer, I was drawn to this topic through my interest in science fiction and comic books. Researching/writing about fiction and science seemed like a natural fit!

What are a few recent professional accomplishments that you’re proud of?

My debut novel, The Reign of the Kingfisher, was published by Macmillan in 2019. It’s a superhero novel set in Chicago that examines the figure of the superhero from a 21st century vantage. I’ve also published a few peer reviewed articles related to literature and science in journals like Configurations and Orbit: A Journal of American Literature.

Currently, I’m working on a couple new novels, both of which I am very excited about. Without saying too much, both novels fall into the speculative fiction genre and one of them may or may not involve aliens.

What are your favorite aspects of teaching? What do you hope students take away from your classes?

The most gratifying thing about teaching is getting to know my students–their passions, their talents, their unique sensibilities–and helping them reach their creative or academic goals. At the end of each semester, I want my students to feel equipped and empowered to use their creative talents in service of their passion.

Why do you think your discipline or subject area is important for people to study?

Creative writing is so much more than just learning how to write a story or a poem. Creative writing is all about the artistry of communication. How do you write for an audience? How can you capture someone’s attention right away? How can you use the written word to make someone think about something in a way they’ve never thought about it before? These are questions that are not only central to creative writing but also benefit any area of study.

Thank you, Dr. Martinson!

Leave a comment