BIO

  • NAME: Morgan Brian 
  • PREFERRED PRONOUNS: she/her
  • HOMETOWN: Paducah, KY
  • YEAR AT MURRAY STATE: Third Year at Murray// Senior
  • DEGREE: History major// in the history accelerated Masters program 
  • QUIRKY FACT: I have a black cat named Apollo 
  • FAVORITES: favorite TV shows are Modern Family and Love Island (UK), favorite book is The White Queen by Philippa Gregory
  • FAVORITE FOOD OR DRINK TO GET ON CAMPUS: Cheese fries at Steak n Shake
  • FAVORITE CAMPUS EVENT: Midnight Breakfast

Q&A

Why did you choose to attend Murray State?

I liked the size of Murray state, especially the faculty to student ratio. I thought I could really excel at Murray and feel comfortable on campus. 

Why did you choose your major and minor?

I actually came into Murray undecided. I grew up loving history, but I was scared to pursue it in college, having no idea what I would want to do with it when I graduated. Eventually I realized that there is no point in pursuing a degree if you do not love what you are studying, so I decided to major in history and It has been one of the best decisions I have ever made.

Tell us about a few of your favorite courses, projects, or mentors.

My second year studying history is when everything really clicked for me. I was taking History of Modern Middle East with Dr. Lindner and history of Modern Africa with Dr. Pizzo. In those courses I realized how much we are not taught in history and just how unaware we are — how I would have never known what was truly happening in those parts of the world unless I took those upper-level courses. It has pushed me to strive to be aware and empathetic with what has happened, what is happening in the world, and what I can do with history — and that’s what studying history is really all about. 

Tell us about any accomplishments you’ve experienced while at Murray State, or any clubs/organizations you’ve enjoyed being a part of.

I think my biggest accomplishment has been finishing and presenting my senior seminar paper. I have never spent a whole semester writing a paper as intense as that one, let alone presenting it to my professors and classmates. I definitely pushed myself, and it was a long semester, but that paper has been one of my proudest accomplishments at Murray State. 

What are your plans for after graduation?

Hopefully in two years I will have my Masters in History and be able to travel abroad. I have no idea what the future holds for me, or technically what job I want to pursue with my degree, but I don’t think I am really supposed to know right now. I am only 21 and have been in school my whole life, I do not think I need to have a straight plan on what I want to do.  

What advice would you give to incoming students at Murray State?

Definitely study something you’re passionate about. Whether your parents have been pushing you in a certain direction or you are wanting to go into something to just make money, go with what you love and enjoy,  and do not worry about what you will do with it when you graduate. It is cliche, but if you do something you love, you will never work a day in your life. I have definitely had hard classes and pulled all-nighters studying, but I have enjoyed it every step of the way, which would not be the case if I didn’t choose history. 

Thank you, Morgan!

One thought on “Featured Student: Morgan Brian

  1. Hi Morgan !! What an Amazing Young Woman You are.I went to School with Your. You have Her Smile Grandmother Carol. You are going to no doubt do Great things in Your Life,and You will leave a Great mark in Life. You have the perfect outlook. I Love to see Young People do Good things with their Life. I lost my older Son Alan at age 19,post Bone Marrow Transplant for Leukemia.My other Son Andrew was His donor.He just published a Book about how Alan affected His Life,and Positive Attitude. Check it out. Donates to Cancer.. Title..The Monsters Family,Not just Business by Andrew Funk on Amazon. I will be keeping in touch with Carol to see how your journey is going. I Pray for All Good Things for You. You are already on Your way..Stay Well!!🙂⭐

    Like

Leave a comment