Student Name: Alchemy Mullen

Year in School: Junior

Major/Area: Vocal Music Education

Hometown: Russellville, KY

Fun fact about yourself: I know too much about tea and coffee for my own good

What drew you to Murray State?

What drew me to Murray State was the amazing music program I had heard so much about. Both my band and choir director had gone to Murray before, and I knew if I wanted to be a musician, I had to come to Murray. 

Why did you choose your major?

I chose my major because I truly believe that every person should be taught music. Music can express so many emotions that words simply can’t. Music also teach skills such as language, math, memory, coordination, and so much more. Teaching music at a young age can help develop these skills.

What’s an academic experience that you’re proud of?

One class I am extremely proud of is Opera Workshop. I have been in that class for the last two years during the fall semester and was able to perform in the Little Red Riding Hood opera where I played the wolf, and this last semester where we did scenes from various operas and musicals.

What’s one of your favorite non-academic aspects of campus life?

One of my favorite aspects of campus life is hanging outside of Waterfield Library once it warms up with a coffee and a book, or simply hanging out with friends before classes.

What are your plans for after graduation?

I plan on being a choir teacher in a middle school or high school. My goal is to teach in either Washington state or Colorado as I love the weather there and there’s more opportunities for teaching.

What advice would you give incoming freshmen at Murray State?

The advice that I would give to incoming freshmen is to not overload yourself with classes and extracurricular activities. If you’re like me and have a major that requires a lot of classes, it’s better to take less classes than trying to add as many as you can. The stress will eventually get to you and sacrificing your mental and physical health is never worth finishing your degree faster. 

Leave a comment