Student Name: Madison Johns

Pronouns: she/her

Year in school (junior, senior, etc.): Senior

Major/Area: BFA in Graphic Design

Hometown: Portland, TN

Fun fact about yourself: I have a Miniature Schnauzer named Gibby who is the light of my life

What drew you to Murray State?

On Fall Break of my senior year in high school, my mom made me choose one college each day to tour. I had no idea where I wanted to go, but I kept getting recruitment emails from Murray State. In the span of five days we toured MSU, Austin Peay, WKU, Memphis, and Chattanooga. As soon as I stepped foot on campus here I knew it was for me. Everyone was kind and welcoming, the campus was just the right size, and I felt a sort of warmth and safety here that the other universities were lacking. Murray State has felt like a home away from home since the first time I visited. 

Why did you choose your major and what made you passionate about studying Graphic Design? 

I changed my major a few times. I have really struggled trying to find myself and a balance between something I love and something that would keep me financially secure. I had always loved art, and I knew that graphic design is a broad field in which there is great potential for creativity as well as financial stability. That being said, I had zero experience with any design software or technique. Basically, I chose graphic design on a whim after being so discouraged with my previous majors. Little did I know that I was meant to do this. It took me a while to really fall in love with design, but once I found my voice and my strengths and weaknesses, I began to thrive. 

What inspired your BFA Exhibition Capstone project?

I absolutely love murder mysteries. I grew up watching Alfred Hitchcock and Agatha Christie movies with my grandmother, and she would always say that the books were better than the movies. This was always difficult for me to grasp because I am such a visual person. I loved seeing the characters come to life in their environment, along with the cliches and campiness that are incorporated into each mystery. The first time I watched Clue in high school it actually changed my life. It is one of my favorite films just because of the humor, the characters and costumes, and the premise as a whole. Since seeing Clue, I have hosted five murder mystery parties where each guest arrived in costume and played a suspect, and we solved the murder as a group. When deciding a concept for my BFA show it occurred to me very quickly that I wanted to do another mystery because I love interactive design. I want the audience to have as much fun experiencing Murder & Merlot as I have had with my grandmother and friends over the past few years. 

What leadership roles, clubs or organizations have you been involved with on or off campus?

I am an active member of OMAS and the secretary of Graphic Design Club. 

Have you experienced any travel while at MSU, conferences, student trips, or internships that have been significant to your degree?

Last semester I was able to travel to St. Louis with Professor Jim Bryant, Assistant Professor Scott Cook, and our Graphic Design 5 class. We toured ad agencies, print shops, and even the zoo (which was my favorite part). We were able to see a variety of places where designers could be employed, and this trip made me feel like I can really do anything I want with my degree. After this trip, I got a remote summer internship with Bookstr in New York, as well as my first Graphic Design position at TKO Custom Designs in Bowling Green. I have grown so much as a designer within the past year because of these amazing opportunities, and I am very grateful to Professor Bryant and Assistant Professor Cook for having prepared me so well to find a job after graduation. 

What have been some challenges you have faced as a student that you were able to overcome. (please only share what you would feel comfortable with the public knowing)

I have always struggled with my health. When I was 16, I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease, an incurable autoimmune disease that I manage every day. I battle chronic fatigue, stress-related flares, and body aches. In addition to Crohn’s, I started to develop intense pains in my hips which were caused by a deformity in the ball joint of each hip. Instead of growing in a sphere, mine grew in sort of an egg shape which caused a lot of wear and tear in the cartilage surrounding the joint. By December of 2022, I had undergone major surgeries on both hips to correct the issue. Recovery included intense physical therapy for several months all while still balancing school and Crohn’s. Looking back, I have no idea how I managed everything, but I have improved immensely, and I am in a great place with both my health and education. 

What’s one of your favorite memories of campus life that isn’t class-related? (A favorite place on campus to hang out, a club or extracurricular activity, an event, etc.)

I love the events that the department hosts! The OMAS and BFA receptions, art auctions, Monster Mash, etc. are always so much fun. I think our department is very intimate. We all know each other and gather to celebrate everyone’s accomplishments. I love that everyone is so involved and eager to attend these events. 

What are your plans for after graduation?

As of right now, I have one internship in mind that I am really interested in, but I will probably be applying to everything I can find. In the meantime I will most likely return to my summer job at TKO Custom Designs to start saving up. 

What advice would you give incoming freshmen at Murray State?

My best advice is to try new things and get involved. If I had not tried graphic design, I have no idea where I would be today. Choosing this major came with finding myself, lifelong friends, and a career I know I will be able to be myself in. When choosing a major, try to bridge the gap between things you love to do and things that will make you money. Believe in yourself and your abilities, and work hard to get to where you want to be. Surround yourself with people who have common interests and goals, and support each other to create connections that will benefit you both in the long run. Murray State has been a safe and creative place for me to grow as a person and a scholar, and I will forever be thankful for the opportunities it has offered. 

Leave a comment