Beth is a senior in Art & Design focusing on photography from Gadsden, TN. A fun fact about Beth is that she has a blood vein shaped like a fish.

What drew you to Murray State?

 Growing up, my family moved a lot. I would drive by the stadium often, not realizing it was a school until years later. After community college, I decided to apply. I was super excited when I got the acceptance letter. Part of it has been hard but you can find people to help you along the way if you ask for it.

Why did you choose your major and minor?

My major chose me. I started out in social work, then I went to biology, and then I recently moved to Art aka Photography. My. Photo Prof Cintia Segovia Figueroa was a huge supporter. She said I should consider the major if it made me happy and now I am expected to graduate in 2025.

What’s one class project or experience in your major that you’ve particularly enjoyed or that you’re proud of?

I’m proud of everything I’ve been able to do in this department. I’ve come out of my shell so much. I’ve done recruiting events, and exhibitions, and met with so many artists through the gallery. I’ve done so many amazing things I wouldn’t have been able to do without this place. It’s surely rewarding. 

What’s one of your favorite aspects of campus life that isn’t class-related?

At the end of the semester, art students have an exhibition where they show their best artworks. They are called BFA shows, I love seeing the students transform the spaces, see what media they are working with, and how they can incorporate that into their shows. It always surprises me what people bring in and put up and how they just magically make the whole space their own. It’s amazing because you never know what someone is going to make out there. I work with them in the gallery every semester for that reason. Also, it gives me ideas for the future on how to problem-solve my work.

What are your plans for after graduation?

Right now, I  enjoy doing different internships and working as a studio assistant with Cintia. So for my future, I’d like to be a studio assistant. That way, I can still have guidance in art and still help somebody, because I like helping people. Other than that, I haven’t thought that far ahead. If I could get something like being a gallery assistant or artists’ assistant, something like that, I think it would help a lot in trying to make connections in the real world and still further myself and my art.

What advice would you give incoming freshmen at Murray State?

You’re not going to probably stay in the major you choose. You may have to jump around a little bit, and that’s ok. Also, find your people. It’s going to help a whole lot. Find people you click with, find clubs, the opportunities you have will be endless doing that. Talk to people, don’t hide in your dorm or the library. So many people are nice, and they want to know you but are probably struggling like you are. So just get out there. I know I did! 

Leave a comment