Student Name: Ashley Pizzolato

Year in school: Senior

Major/Area: Japanese Translation/Interpretation

Minor: Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

Hometown: Donaldson, AR

Fun fact about yourself: I’m a cat person.

What drew you to Murray State?

Murray State had my major. There isn’t a single university in Arkansas that offers a Japanese language major, so I was really excited to find another university so close. Also, students from Arkansas qualify for a financial aid benefit from MSU since it’s in the same region.

Why did you choose your major and minor?

I chose my major because I have had an interest in language since high school, but I have had an interest in Japanese culture and history for a long time as well.We unfortunately do not have a Japanese major anymore, but I would definitely encourage students to pursue a minor in Japanese. I chose a TESOL minor because I hope to make an impact on other people’s lives like my teachers have done for me in the past. I love my major because it has allowed me to make so many meaningful connections with others, and I enjoy my minor as well because I have been able to learn more about linguistics as well as cognition. 

What’s one experience that you’re especially proud of?

Because of the guidance of our two Japanese professors, Hatakeyama-sensei and Shirata-sensei, I was able to attend a Japanese speech competition at the national level. It made me realize how far I’ve come as well as how hard our professors work to help us make accomplishments such as these.

What’s one of your favorite non-academic aspects of campus life ?

One aspect of campus life that I really enjoy is Murray State’s Conversation Partners program. You volunteer to meet an international student for one hour a week to exchange language and culture. I have met many friends through this program and participating has been one of the highlights of my academic career.

What are your plans for after graduation?

After graduation, I am hoping to move to Japan to teach English, but after that, my main goal is to work as a translator for an entertainment company.

What advice would you give incoming freshmen at Murray State?

I would say to participate in things! One of the best decisions I have made at Murray State is to join clubs and other types of programs because it’s given me the opportunity to make long lasting connections and lifelong friendships.

Leave a comment