Lu Colby

 

Lu Colby, a senior art major from Tawas City, Michigan, is the recipient of a Southern Graphics Council International (SCGI) Student Fellowship Award for 2020. Each year, SCGI awards only one undergraduate award and one graduate award. Colby is the first Murray State student to win the award.

“With the award, I will be able to keep developing my artistic practice and making work, and for that I am extremely grateful to the SGCI organization,” said Colby. “As with most good things, a large amount of work and research has been put into these pieces. The student fellowship award has helped to reassure and promote the time and energy put into this body of work.”

Colby’s work L-R: “Who Put Baby in the Corner” and “Let’s Iron It Out”

Coming to Murray State was an easy choice for Colby, who will go on to pursue her MFA in art at Louisiana State this fall. “Murray State has been instrumental in my development as a professional artist, and I would not have the opportunities I’ve been given without my time spent here,” said Colby. “The faculty and staff go above and beyond expectations and are always prepared to help and support. This can be said for the peers and friends I have made through the printmaking program at Murray State as well. I will miss my time here, but will apply what I have learned to my future studies.”

For Colby, being an artist is a family affair. “I grew up in a house surrounded by artistic practice. Both my parents are artists so it came naturally to me, and I’ve always exercised that part of my brain,” she said. “While it took me awhile to decide I wanted to major in it, I’ve not doubted it since. Printmaking and its characteristic of the multiple and repetition are essential to the content of my work, so I was easily drawn to it from the start of my time at Murray State.”

Sew and Be Sewn

Colby’s work, “Sew and Be Sewn.”

Nicole Hand, professor of art and one of Colby’s mentors, is not surprised by the success Colby is experiencing. “Lu is the first printmaking student from Murray State University to receive this national award,” Hand said. “She is an amazing artist and student. It is her dedication and commitment to her studio practice and degree that have made her so successful.”

Colby’s current portfolio of work can be seen on her website: www.lucolby.com.

Leave a comment