Erin is a senior in Global Languages, focusing on Spanish Translation and Interpretation, from Liberty Township, Ohio. She’s a Presidential Fellow at MSU and has studied abroad in Spain twice, during her time here.

What drew you to Murray State?

Murray offered me a Presidential Fellowship, which is really hard to turn down. Through the interview process, I toured Murray State and realized that the students, staff, and faculty lived up to the “Friendliest Small Town in America” moniker. I also liked the small size of the school and my department, which have allowed me to get to know the professors and build connections. And I knew at the time that I was considering a Nonprofit Minor, which is a unique program here. So a lot of things drew me to Murray!

Why did you choose your major and minor?

My major is Spanish Translation and Interpretation. Since I started studying Spanish, I’ve loved learning it. It opens doors of communication to a whole other portion of the world’s population with diverse cultural backgrounds I can now communicate with. I love that. I took a mission trip to Mexico in high school, where I got to use the language practically for the first time, which was enthralling to me. From there, I started with dual credit classes and declared it as my major because I really liked it. I knew I would find a way to make Spanish into a career. It’s a fascinating and very useful major and I just wanted to continue learning the language. For my minor, Nonprofit Leadership Studies, I knew that I didn’t want to be a Spanish teacher and that I needed something to pair with my major. I took some intro business courses and an intro nonprofit course to try out both, and I also talked with professors in those departments. In the end, nonprofit organizations seemed like a business model that had a mission at its heart and not just profit, and I was really excited about this combination of business and caring for others. It felt like me.

What’s one class or project or experience in your major that you’ve particularly enjoyed or that you’re proud of?

To my surprise, it has been research. As a requirement of my scholarship, I have to complete research weekly. I wasn’t super looking forward to it when I started. I didn’t know what doing research in the humanities even looks like.  But I’ve grown to love it through encouragement from my mentor Dr. Fritz. This past December I took a research trip to the Newberry Library in Chicago thanks to an ORCA grant. At the Newberry Library, I got to consult translations of two of the Spanish humanist Pedro Mexía’s 16th century texts and some Spanish copies from the era. It was incredibly cool to hold 400+ year old books in my hands. I photographed over a thousand pages that I am now using to compare the effects of the translators’ ideologies on their translations during the 16th and 17th centuries. It has been really cool to see my work with Dr. Fritz evolve over the years, and I’m really proud of where it’s come to and excited for where it’s going.

What’s one of your favorite aspects of campus life that isn’t class-related? (A favorite place on campus to hang out, a club or extracurricular activity, an event, etc.)

I would probably have to say being a member and former president of the Alpha Mu Gamma foreign language honors society chapter on campus (so,  like, shameless plug). I’ve made some really good friends there and serving as an officer helped me gain a lot of professional skills that I don’t think I would have had as easy access to just in class. It was really cool to take a leadership role in that while getting to work with faculty and students.  The club provides lots of opportunities to learn about other cultures. We’ve had exceptional guest speakers who were from all over the world, including someone via Zoom while on study abroad in Korea, so very early in her time zone. We do goofy game nights and go to Cinema International movies together. Whatever language you study, however much of it you’ve learned, the club allows you to see other cultures and learn about a very globalized world while meeting people who share that interest. 

What are your plans for after graduation?

I hit junior year, and everyone asked me that. I’m hoping to move abroad, at least for a little while, with a program such as Fulbright or the Peace Corps. Long term, I’d like to put my Spanish skills to use serving others as a nonprofit professional.

What advice would you give incoming freshmen at Murray State?

I’ve been thinking about this. There are two things. One is to get to know your professors. They are invaluable connections and fascinating people. You will learn so much through class, yes, but also through talking with them before class, after class, in student office hours. Get to know your professors! Secondly, especially to fellow honors students, do not fight to maintain a 4.0. My mom always says that the difference between a 90% and a 100% is a life. While both will get you an ‘A’ in the class, a 100% carries this huge opportunity cost of other things that you aren’t able to do. I’ve seen too many honors students stressed out about a 4.0 when a 3-point-whatever is about as valuable and so much more peaceful. My favorite memories at MSU involve spending time with friends and learning from unique opportunities, not cramming for exams or revising an essay. There’s so much to do in this unique phase of life, so you need to prioritize your hours. Only focusing on grades isn’t it.

Leave a comment